Ups and down(under)s in Australia

Tomorrow I leave Australia for New Zealand, and it’s been a fantastic couple of weeks here.  Let’s get the negatives out of the way first of all.  Physically, it’s been a very tough 17 days or so.  As feared in my last post, I’ve really struggled with my health since I’ve been here.  There have been one or two days when I really thought I should go home and get myself fixed up, for example today where I basically haven’t left my hotel room.  But I think my resolve and pure stubbornness to make the most of my time here has kept me going.  I’m hoping that when I get to NZ things will pick up, as I will be controlling my diet much more (no more eating out every day!).  Hopefully.

Anyway, that hasn’t stopped me enjoying my time in this fascinating, beautiful, friendly country and I’ve been getting the camera out at every possible opportunity.  2,637 photos over 13 days out with the camera and I decided just to pick about one per day to post on here to give a flavour of what I enjoyed.  I could have picked 5 or 6 a day, at the very least, but once I’m home I’ll probably shove a load more on Flickr.

So below you’ll see a few shots from Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne, the Great Ocean Road and the Grampians.  They’re probably not all the typical landmarks, but just things which I found interesting, profound, or just plain cool.

Big skies
Big skies over Manly

Jellies
Jellyfish in Sydney Aquarium
Memorial Wall
Carruthers on the memorial wall at The National War Memorial, Canberra
National Museum of Australia
National Museum of Australia, Canberra reflection
Papper papped
The papper papped by me on the excellent Geoscience Australia field trip after our conference
Melbourne architecture
Melbourne contrast of architecture
Bells beach surfer
Bells Beach surfer
Sea stack
Sean in front of a sea stack, Gibson Steps, Great Ocean Road
Hire Car
The hire car, a humongous RAV4 SUV.  A guilty pleasure, it was great to drive.
MacKenzie Falls
MacKenzie Falls gorge, Grampians
Quartz vein
Quartz vein in Bendigo gold mine

3 thoughts on “Ups and down(under)s in Australia

Leave a Reply

