Time for a tipple

One of the things I do to help with my Crohn’s Disease is to avoid certain foods.  Mainly this means not eating wheat, but I basically maintain a gluten-free diet as much as I possibly can.  This makes my life immeasurably better, but there are times I get caught out, and often I don’t know what it is I have eaten – or drunk – which has led to days of intense discomfort.

But the more I pay attention, the more I learn what’s not good for me.  I’m certain now that eating spicy food i.e. anything with chilies really doesn’t agree with me.  To be fair, spicy food doesn’t agree with most people, as anyone with angry guts the day after a curry will testify.  But with me, the agony lasts for days and exacerbates other problems which I won’t go into here.

Booze also seems to have an effect, but this is something I’m less clear on.  Some days I’ll have several drinks and will be fine the following day, and other times I’ll be ill after only one drink.  I deliberately avoid whisky and beer, to maintain at strict avoidance of gluten, and I’m not a fan of wine, so for sociable drinking in this country, cider is the tipple of choice.

Actually, cider has always been my choice of drink.  From drinking Woodpecker at home as a teenager, to Strongbow and Blackthorn in my early years in Edinburgh, and now a large variety of mass-produced ciders such as Kopperberg and Magners.  But I’ve been good for ages and have avoided drinking for several months now.  Maybe the odd slip, though…  Certainly over Christmas, I did my best to drink nothing and have generally kept in good health.

But now I have a few days where I have no commitments and have decided perhaps I deserve to enjoy a drink – unwind, relax, and not think about the consequences.  So, on passing my local indy booze emporium (the Beerhive), I popped in and bought three ciders which are new to me: Monteith’s Crushed Pear Cider (New Zealand); Idun’s Pear Cider (Sweden); and J.K.’s Scrumpy Orchard Gate Gold (U.S.A.).  It’s a good opportunity to have something different, support an indy shop, and provides material for a short blog post!

CidersI’ve only had the Monteith’s so far, but it’s pleasantly different and much drier compared to the normal pear ciders I’m used to drinking in this country, that is the very sweet fruit-juice-a-like Swedish ciders.  Having had a couple of bottles, I don’t feel the need to brush my teeth!

I’ll let you know how the others fare, and of course you’ll hear all about the health consequences in due course.  Slàinte mhath!

One thought on “Time for a tipple

Leave a Reply

