Scottish Winter Photography

I’m not going to pretend for a second that I’m a decent photographer, but I’m still proud of some of the photos I manage to take.  I think I’ve mentioned this elsewhere, but I used to be resolutely against overly-processed photos.  Well, seems I’m slipping in my resolve as any glance through my photos will show.  Or maybe not?  Whether they look overdone or not, I recognise now that this is the beauty of digital photography; one can so easily express their creativity with just a few minutes of work.

Anyway, below are some photos from the Scottish winter around Edinburgh, and the Highlands.  No snow, I’m afraid, but we’re only half-way through winter at the moment, so you never know… And I’ve snuck in some photos from the end of Autumn too, but I’m sure you’ll not mind.  My flickr feed is www.flickr.com/photos/gingerfox/ for more photos, and I hope you enjoy!

Forth Rail Bridge 2

Solway Firth at dusk

Flying Chair Ride 2

Stars 3

Boats on Loch Duich

Eilean Donan Castle South

Falls of Bruar 2

7 thoughts on “Scottish Winter Photography

  1. Kelly FlatEleven Sunday 26th January, 2014 / 8:52 pm

    Gorgeous photos! It makes me miss living in Scotland! X

    • Kit Carruthers Sunday 26th January, 2014 / 9:42 pm

      Thanks Kelly, it’s a great country! I can’t imagine living anywhere else.

  2. Rachel Sunday 26th January, 2014 / 8:58 pm

    Your photos are awesome.

    • Kit Carruthers Sunday 26th January, 2014 / 9:08 pm

      Thanks Rachel, I’m very much still an amateur, years after picking up my first ‘proper’ (i.e. SLR) camera.

  3. susan Saturday 22nd March, 2014 / 2:37 am

    Where and what is the keep at the end of the bridge? I like them all, the last one I can feel the coldness of the water and smell the wet lichen. The family monument stone is great, you can really reach out and touch the faraway past…

    • Kit Carruthers Saturday 22nd March, 2014 / 10:25 am

      It is Eilean Donan castle, apparently one of the most photographed castles in Scotland.

Leave a Reply

