Learning from your cock-ups

I learned a valuable lesson the other day: when Lightroom tells you repeatedly to back up your catalogue, you should do it!  And not only that, but back it up somewhere sensible!  I learned the hard way, by managing to delete my entire Lightroom catalogue which I’ve been working on since October last year.  Thankfully, this only really affects the photos I’ve posted here and here, and the occasional other photo or two, but still, it’s annoying as I’ve spent a lot of time working on them!

For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, the catalogue is where all the settings are stored for the images which have been processed in Lightroom.  So, while I still have the original images (phew!), the settings which make them look nice(r) are gone, so if I wanted to export them at higher resolutions, or at a custom size, etc. then I have to start from scratch.

Actually, in some ways this is a bit of a blessing.  My photos from Australia, New Zealand, Fiji and the USA from my travels last year were all processed with Lightroom on my laptop, and I wasn’t sure how to merge that catalogue with the one on my desktop PC.  Now that I’ve lost all the desktop settings, this is no longer a problem!

Anyway, it’s a lesson learned.  I consoled myself by getting out with the camera to capture the Aurora Borealis which was visible over Edinburgh on Thursday/Friday, and I got down to the promenade at Cramond on Saturday.  Both were opportunities to experiment with timelapse.  The results of the Aurora timelapse are on my other blog: VitaminCCS

The timelapse material from Cramond was of mixed quality (more lessons learned!), so I don’t have anything to show for that at the moment, but I did take a few snaps at the end of the day as ‘proper’ photos which were never intended for the timelapse.  They’re all very similar, and are below.  Comments welcome🙂

Cramond

Cramond

Cramond

Leave a Reply

